2017 Olympia Hall of Fame Inductees Announced
2017 Olympia Hall of Fame Inductees Announced
Posted on 02/07/2017
This is the image for the news article titled 2017 Olympia Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Olympia School District proudly announces the Olympia High School Hall of Fame Class of 2017 inductees!  These distinguished individuals will be introduced at half-time of the boys’ basketball game on Friday, Feb. 10, 2017, at Olympia High School.  In coordination with Senior Night and the FFA Silent Auction, Olympia fans are encouraged to give a warm return welcome to our distinguished alumni as the boys compete against Mahomet Seymour High School – The varsity game will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m.   

This year’s inductees are:

Keri Leach (Class of 2009 – Individual- Outstanding Accomplishment at OHS)

Keri LeachA 2009 graduate of Olympia, Keri earned four varsity letters in softball, with additional letters in basketball and swimming.  A four-year starter and three year starting pitcher, she pitched her team to a state runner-up finish in 2008 and state championship in 2009.  She amassed an 87 -5 pitching record, had a career .461 batting average, with 178 RBI’s and 220 hits.  She ended her high school career with a 44 game hitting streak.  Keri was a four-time selection to the Illinois Coaches Association All-State team, Corn Belt Conference 1st team, and Peoria Journal Star All-Area Team.  She was also a three time Chicago Tribune 1st team All State member.  She capped her senior season by being selected the Peoria Journal Star Player of the Year.  Keri began her collegiate career at the University of Tulsa, later transferring to Illinois Wesleyan.  During her senior year at IWU, she was named CCIW Hitter and Player of the Year and set the IWU single season doubles record (17).  Keri was also selected to the 2nd team NFCA National All-American team.  Off the field, Keri received numerous honors for her academics and graduated cum laude from Illinois Wesleyan.

Steven Cook (Class of 1984 – Distinguished Graduate)

Steven CookA 1984 graduate of Olympia, Steven was valedictorian of his class and a member of the National Honor Society.  He was a member of the marching band and jazz band, winning various competition awards.  Upon graduation, Steven attended Arizona State University.  He is the head of iTek Corporation, which develops software for local and global non-profit organizations and small businesses.  Steven is also the president and founder of Equitas, a non-profit that is building a primary school in Malawi, Africa.  He is actively working on community development in rural African villages as well as educating orphans and vulnerable children.


Stanley Deal (Class of 1982 – Distinguished Graduate)

Stanley DealGraduating from Olympia in 1982, Stanley Deal was a member of the National Honor Society and track team.  He participated in a variety of clubs and activities during his years at Olympia.  Upon graduation, Stanley attended the University of Illinois, earning a Bachelor of Science degree and then went on to Pepperdine University where he earned a Master degree in Business Administration.  He serves on the board of directors for the Washington State Opportunity Scholarship and also served as vice president and general manager for Fairchild Aerospace.  Stanley joined Boeing in 1986 where he has held a variety of positions.  Most recently serving as senior vice president for Commercial Aviation Services for Boeing.  Currently, Stanley is the president and CEO of Boeing Global Services.

Thad Hallstein (Class of 1995 – Distinguished Graduate) 

Thad HallsteinThad is a 1995 graduate of Olympia, where he was involved with numerous activities.  He held lead roles in school plays/musicals, was editor of the yearbook and competed in state speech competitions. Thad was a member of the National Honor Society and Illinois State Scholar.  He also received the IHSA Scholastic Achievement Award and President’s Education Award.  Upon graduation Thad attending Illinois State University, where he graduated Summa Cum Laude in 2000 in Theatre and 2003 in Graphic Design.  Thad was a Robert G. Bone Scholar, University Honors Scholar, Cal Pritner Award recipient, American College of Theatre Festival Merit Award recipient and a Presidential Scholar.  Thad is currently the resident designer and technical director of the Theatre of Western Springs.  He has received various honors and awards in his professional career including an alumni guest artist at ISU in 2013, a Joseph Jefferson Award nominee for scenic design, Equity Theatre wing, for “Jerusalem’ – profiles Theatre in 2016.

Brent Orr (Class of 1994 – Distinguished Graduate)

Brent OrrA 1994 graduate of Olympia, Brent was co-valedictorian of his graduating class.  He was a varsity letter winner in football, cross-country, basketball and track.  Brent was a member of the National Honor Society, Spanish Club, Math/Science Club and recipient of the Hopedale Medical Complex Scholarship.  He then attended the University of Illinois, graduating in 1998.  Brent was on the Dean’ List and also was a James Scholar, graduating with high distinction with a MD, PHD in Neuroscience.  He received the Donald Thrush Award from the U of I College of Medicine and the Charles and Frances Condit Fund Award form Carle Foundation Hospital. Brent did his residency in anatomic pathology and fellowship in neuro pathology at Johns Hopkins.  He received the Young Investigator Award for Excellence in Translation Research from Johns Hopkins Department of Pathology and the Midwest Breast Institute Graduate Fellowship.  Currently, Brent is an assistant member of the faculty and director of anatomic pathology at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. 

We look forward to the Hall of Fame Banquet at 4:30 p.m. on Sunday, May 7, at Olympia High School where each candidate will be recognized and honored for their contributions to Olympia High School, as well as, accomplishments post-graduation.